Bees and compassion

image

There is a beehive in the attic of my home. There, the bees do what the bees do.They look terribly busy. It is much buzzing and little honey.

What they are busy doing is ingesting and regurgitating several times the nectar they have collected from flowers.

The beehive is probably 30 feet above the basement where I work and there is no apparent way for them to end up near the lights in the ceiling right above me. For the past few days though single bees have been finding their way here using a passage known only to them. I am told bees have a way of sensing light which they mistake for daybreak. That still does not explain how they find their way.

Not that I am scared of bees at all but the presence of a single one hovering above is enough to seriously distract me. Because of the near subzero temperatures in the attic these days the bees become rather languid and tend to just drop on my desk and elsewhere.

Yesterday, I had to zap five bees with a piece of cloth using enough force to temporarily incapacitate them without actually killing them. I picked them up  alive with the same cloth each time and released them outside.I find it hard to believe that being so zapped would not leave a lasting damage to their frail wings or bodies. It is also possible that some of them may have died soon afterward.  I apologize for the beecide. Beecide is not a word. I have coined it just for this post in the hope that it might live on longer than some of the bees.

I had no right to zap those bees. None. In a perfectly pacifist world, equally respectful of all sentient life, this would constitute a serious crime. But in the world where we live it would barely register. We have created such a cruelly pragmatic and fundamentally discriminatory order that zapping five bees means nothing. If I had similarly attacked even one dog, I would probably face some penal action. But then we have no compunctions slaughtering livestock by the millions every day to feed ourselves. We vigorously weed out dandelions for instance even as we so lovingly nurture roses and tulips and jasmines and rhododendrons. Some people practically make love to orchids. WTF, man!

Our morality, compassion, ethics and righteousness are all devised such that they are convenient, expedient and utterly self-serving. They are also so situational. We are not intrinsically kind. We just pretend successfully most of the time.

About chutiumsulfate

South Asians can infer from my name what I am. View all posts by chutiumsulfate

Leave a Reply

