The Brothers Tsarnaevs

This is probably a first for me and perhaps rightly so. I am withdrawing my post titled ‘The Brothers Tsarnaevs’ entirely in response to comments by a dear friend and fellow journalist Kajal Basu who said the following:

“Mayank, I’m afraid you’re guilty here of American-type extrapolation. In sports, it’s called ‘jumping the gun’. The investigations haven’t even begun – and you’re into the thick of making this gratuitous Timur-e-Lang connection. (It’s ‘Temür i Lein’ in Chagatai, BTW.)

I’m disappointed.”

Kajal makes a valid point about the tone of the post, although in my defense, if any is necessary at all, there was no attempt at all at extrapolation. In my effort to offer a labored historical context to the just the name Tamerlan I wrote something that may have come across in the spirit that Kajal describes.  

His disappointment is understandable and hence my withdrawal.

Mayank Chhaya

About chutiumsulfate

South Asians can infer from my name what I am. View all posts by chutiumsulfate

Leave a Reply

