Creating is hard, selling it even harder

image

Creating is hard but selling your creation is harder. That’s because when you create any consumable content, be it an artwork or a blog or a film or a book, you are the only reference point. However, the moment you put your content in the market to be consumed, you multiply that reference point by a few million.

It has been a little over two weeks since I signed up with the online art sellers Saatchi (www.saatchionline.com). I knew that nothing would sell but was hoping everything would be snapped up in about six minutes. What I knew has turned out to be accurate so far. What I hoped has been belied.

Some of my friends would tell me that I was deluding myself if I thought I would sell. My response was and still is that all art is a result of delusion. To think that what you have written, painted, drawn or made may actually be paid for by even one person is an exercise in delusion. Of all things that might inhibit me from putting my stuff out, I think delusion should be the least inhibiting.

The wall of my digital paintings above showcases 17 works that are on sale at http://www.saatchionline.com/chhaya. As I said, not one has sold yet, not even a print. There could be any number of reasons for the poor showing. At the top of the list could be their unimpressive quality. Some of my works do have the potential to be wall art but my primary intention has been to create a range of designs that can be merchandized as linen, cutlery, cushions, upholstery, tiles and certain types of clothing. You can put it on tampons or condoms for all I care as long as you buy. You might say that such an approach dilutes the purpose of art. Well, I do not for a moment presume this to be art in that league.

One reason for no sale could be that there is just too much out there on the Internet. The world is bursting with talent just as our planet is bursting with life. It is like when everyone is talented, no one really is. I am not sure if my twisted logic extends to life as well—when everyone is alive, no one really is.

The point of this post is to tell you to just go to saatchionline.com and buy something, any damn thing, and not necessarily my work.

Note: Part 2 of my interview with Dr. Bhaswati Bhattacharya will appear next week after Hi India weekly has published it.

About chutiumsulfate

South Asians can infer from my name what I am. View all posts by chutiumsulfate

Leave a Reply

