Fall up close

Fall-upclose-small

Nature rises to such resplendent luminescence in Fall. It is as if it is engaging in the last great tease before it sheds its beauteous trimmings to lure Winter.

I had been meaning to paint Fall up close and here is what happened this morning. The predominant color of Fall is a mixture of deep pink and creeping yellow. I began with a few vertical strokes of dark brown to depict some tree trunks but soon they were overtaken by just random strokes of yellow, green, red and pink. That gave me the backdrop against which I stood up the three trees. The trees that you see here were added as an afterthought as was the drying grass. Everything in this digital painting was an afterthought. Considering that, I think it turned out fairly well.

I am quite struck by the arboreal, floral and faunal intelligence in adapting to changing seasons. It also strikes me that while we humans go under layers of clothing to prepare for Winter, trees drop their cover and come down to the bare minimum.

There is a fishpond in my backyard where over a dozen fish have already begun to slow down as a prelude to hibernation. Last winter was particularly severe but they all managed to survive under a sheet of ice that lasted close to three months. They all huddle together under a rock in a communal embrace.

About chutiumsulfate

South Asians can infer from my name what I am. View all posts by chutiumsulfate

Leave a Reply

