Daily Archives: March 27, 2014

A sucker for utterly useless coincidences

image

I am a sucker for utterly useless coincidences. I have had my share of those. One happened between this morning and last Saturday.

Flipping through the channels on my TV, I settled a bit on an episode of House Hunters International on HGTV about an inflight director called Jada wanting to settle down in Gaborone, Botswana. Botswana is a lovely country blessed with some great natural beauty. I was thinking to myself what it would be like to live in Gaborone. I left it at that. That was the first half of this coincidence.

The second half of the coincidence happened this morning when I was checking the kind of visitors to this blog on the right hand bar. I was struck by one from Gaborone, Botswana. (Number 6 on the list above). What are the odds that you chance upon a place on television and then, a few days later, you have a visitor from that very place on your blog? It seems they are fairly high going by this coincidence.

Of course, the visitor from Gaborone was looking for “Padma Lakshmi body”, Padma Lakshmi being a model turned TV host and formerly wife of the author Salman Rushdie. People looking for Padma Lakshmi for entirely lascivious reasons end up on this blog because I had done a couple of posts in 2009 about her highly suggestive commercial Hardee’s and a nude photo shot she did for Allure magazine, both in quick succession in March and April of 2007.

Look at all the dots which eventually connect here. The coincidence begins with my watching House Hunters International from Gaborone, Botswana and some resident there looking for “padma lakshmi body”. And we have this utterly useless post, which is just as well as because I have a routine visit from a killer migraine for the last couple of days.

image